Skip to content
February 28, 2012 / Asimplemother

Last Minute School/Work Treats

Who would think treat day would awake me in the middle of the night stressed and worried, more than any big work meeting?

It was Georgia’s day to bring a treat for class today and of course I am last-minute planning our goodies for a class of 1-5 year olds. In addition, I also needed to bring a treat for the parents’ room. And of course, you will be judged on the quality of your treat by the others.

In some ways, I was happy that the student treat needed to be store bought, one less creative recipe challenge. But, as for the parent treat, I was gathering my resources last night. I did have the basic ingredients for a treat: flour, sugar, eggs, etc. But what flavor? What type of treat? After seeing a jar of peaches, I began my search for a treat. And of course, I did not select a tried and true one…I selected a new one, that required a couple of ingredient substitutions. Why not put all my hopes of winning over the parents into one loaf of peach bread?

As for the student treat. I wanted it to be one of Georgia’s favorites. But I also know she is an advanced eater for her age (flavors and ability), so I needed to really scan the snack category. Our decisions: whole grain mini Club Crackers, cheese and bananas.

And the results…A big hit for both. The mothers were asking for the bread recipe. The kids loved the crackers. Mini crackers even became the topic of conversation in the parent room.

And a big sigh from me. I should be able to sleep better tonight knowing I passed the school treat test!

PEACH BREAD
Recipe from http://www.food.com, recipe #25514
Make sure to use an electric mixer to help dice up the peaches as you mix.

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 C sugar
3 eggs
2 3/4 C flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 C sliced fresh peaches (I used drained canned peaches in light syrup, reserve syrup)
3 TBSP frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed (I used 3 tbsp reserved peach syrup)
1 tsp vanilla

1. Cream butter. Add sugar gradually
2. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each one.
3. Mix the next 5 ingredients together, add to the butter mixture, alternating with the peaches. Start and end with the flour mixture.
4. Stir in juice concentrate and vanilla
5. Pour mixture into a greased and floured (I used shortening and flour) 9 x 5 x 3-inch loaf pan.
6. Bake at 350* for 1 hour or until wooden toothpick comes out clean
7. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes
8. Remove from loaf pan and cool completely

20120228-205007.jpg

20120228-204853.jpg

Leave a Reply

