Skip to content
July 8, 2014 / Asimplemother

Tis the Season…

I absolutely love this time of year! Probably the reason I haven’t written a blog post in a while. I have been out enjoying the beautiful weather, taking in the sun and watching our gardens grow.  But as I shake my head back into reality, I have a kitchen full of produce that seems to go from zero to abundance overnight.  Leaving me with my favorite challenge: how can I cook, bake or use all of it to create delicious meals for my family? The artist in me (I am a terrible drawer) comes out and I start to design foods that taste good yes, but also brighten up our dinner plate.

It all starts with asparagus, then rhubarb, now strawberries, radishes, lettuce and raspberries.  I do preserve some (by freezing), but I really love eating in the moment.  And yes, that means in December here in Minnesota I am willing to eat produce trucked in.  This leaves us with some great eats like my rhubarb peach crisp.  Which I have learned is an excellent fruit combination.  Plus, 2X the fruit and 3X the topping for awesomeness!  A great fresh herb dip (just pick a handful of any herbs) with garlic is excellent for a bag full of fresh radishes.

Rhubarb       radishes        raspberries

And now we are to raspberry season.  Although I use most of the raspberries fresh, I have a standing agreement (verbal only) with my mother-in-law that she can have as many raspberries as she would like, in exchange for fresh raspberry jam.  Which by the way is the only type of jam I will eat now (homemade).  She makes an excellent combination of raspberry-rhubarb jam too.  But what shall I make with our raspberries? I have my old standby: Lemon Custard Cake with Raspberries.  There is always a raspberry sauce for anything from waffles to chicken.  I’ll have to work on this one. In the meantime we’ll enjoy some of our favorites…waffles with raspberries and real maple syrup anyone?

Try for yourself…this crisp is really, “A fend for yourself, you better have a big spoon kind of dessert.” Enjoy!

Rhubarb Peach Crisp Recipe

Ingredients:

5 cups of fresh rhubarb, diced/chopped
1-24.5 oz. jar of sliced peaches, well-drained (about 1 hour), then chop.
3/4 cup of white sugar
1 T. Flour
1-1/2 cups quick oats
1-1/2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup ground flaxseed meal
1/4 tsp. all spice
1/4 tsp. nutmeg, ground
1/4 tsp. ground cloves
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup cold butter, diced
1/4 cup coconut oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375° F.  Mix peaches, rhubarb, white sugar and 1 T. white sugar in a bowl.  Pour into ungreased 9×13 pan.  Meanwhile, mix together the next 8 ingredients. Stir to combine.  Cut in butter with a pastry blender or fork. Mix in coconut oil. Sprinkle topping mix over fruit.  Bake for 35-40 minutes until top is lightly golden and crispy.

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ema Jones / Jul 9 2014 8:03 am

    Too good!!
    Enjoy Healthy Cracker Chocolate Chips Muffins
    http://bit.ly/193JG6V

Leave a Reply

